BREAKROOM First Edition: March 2021 at Le Consulate

Video Premier: January 2023 at Le 19m

BREAKROOM is a short observational concert film that documents the initial encounter between members of the Paris jazz scene, organized by Richard Sears, and members of the Paris dance battle community, organized by Idrysse Minix. The event was inspired by their mutual friend and collaborator, dancer Nicolas Faubert. In 2021, both Nicolas and Richard resided at the Cité International des Arts in Paris and frequently connected through their shared passion for music and dance. Nicolas had a significant impact on the broader Cité International des Arts community, particularly by organizing dance battles at the institution. These events provided many artists and curators with their first exposure to the urban dance battle community and practice. Nicolas’s curation and collaboration surrounding the battle events expanded the scope of dance within the Cité’s institutional reach. It was during these encounters that Richard met Idrysse.

Towards the end of 2021, Nicolas experienced a temporary health setback, which necessitated a brief break from his work. Friends from the Cité International des Arts and the dance community rallied together to support him. As part of this collective effort, Richard proposed the idea of hosting a dance battle in honor of Nicolas’s work, combined with live music composed by Richard and performed by his friends from the Paris contemporary jazz scene. Idrysse curated the selection of dancers and served as the master of ceremonies.

Dance and music have a deeply intertwined historical and cultural connection, and the poetic rhythmic exchange in this specific setting was remarkable. Filmmaker and fellow Cité International des Arts resident, Dominik Zietlow, captured the event on film and skillfully edited it in a way that seamlessly merges the original dance and musical performances.


Richard Sears  – piano/composer
Alexis Vallet – vibraphone
Sandro Verafa – guitar
Sam F’hima – acoustic bass
Guilhem Flouzat – drums
Francesco Ciniglio – drums


Lucie Boussard “Lus”
Nicolas Faubert “Kryza”
Florimond Samuel Frero “Magnum”
Sadou Gueye “Sade”
Ulrich Mbappe Koum “Sossa”
Nicola Misaine “Baby Fox”
Biro Soumare “Biro”
Verlin Zépëkènhô “Bboy”




Idrysse Minix 

Filmed by

Dominik Zietlow

with additional filming from
Lou Gorzkowska